2018 Australian Healthcare Week Excellence Awards & Dinner

Australian Healthcare Week 2018 is delighted to announce the winners of our Inaugural AHW Excellence Awards & Dinner!

At the close of day one, attendees had the pleasure of enjoying drinks and canapes followed by dinner and entertainment to recognise those health facilities, teams and individuals who are making the greatest contributions to our healthcare community.

Thank you to our 2018 attendees, judging panel, award sponsors and charity partner, and guest MC, Peter FitzSimons, for making this year's Excellence Awards and Dinner Evening a huge success.


Award Categories and Winners:

The following categories were judged by the 2018 Australian Healthcare Week Judging Panel.

Congratulations to all the 2018 Australian Healthcare Week Excellence Award Winners!


Healthcare CEO Of The Year Award

WINNER: Adrian Pennington, Wide Bay Hospital and Health Service

Honoury Mention: Terry Welch, Maryborough District Health Service


Best Hospital Development Project Award

WINNER: St John of God Berwick Hospital

Honoury Mention: Bendigo Health


Aged Care CEO Of The Year Award

WINNER: William Appleby, Jewish Care (Victoria) Inc.

Honoury Mention: Robert Orie, Montefiore


Best Aged Care Facility Award

WINNER: The Village by Scalabrini, operated by Scalabrini Village Ltd

Honoury Mention: Montefiore


Best Digital Transformation Project Award

WINNER: Digital Hospital Project Team, Metro South Health, Queensland

Honoury Mention: The Sydney Children's Hospitals Network


Nurse Of The Year Award

WINNER: Judith Smith, University of Technology, Sydney

With Thanks to Our 2018 MC and Judging Panel

Master of Ceremonies:

AHW_PeterfitsimonsAustralia's very own Peter FitzSimons

The 2018 Judging Panel:

  • Kylie Ward, Chief Executive Officer, Australian College of Nursing
  • Wayne Jones, Chief Executive Officer, Northern NSW Local Health District
  • Nicole Waldron, Executive Director, Epworth Richmond
  • Stephen Ayre, Chief Executive Officer, Metro South Health
  • Fabio Maya, Chief Executive Officer, Sapphire Care

awards2 awards3 awards4

awards5  awards6  awards7